Sharing Confusion


#1

Version 8.01

I currently have sharing globally disabled. We just don’t want the option for most users.

Question: I do have a case where I need to create some new workspaces where they want sharing enabled.

What is the best way to implement and maintain these two different approaches to sharing? I know I can add sharing to a role, but there are a boatload of sharing options when you look and it isn’t clear what is what (I guess the same could be same for disabling as well! lol).

I guess since we have the existing users locked down, what is the best way to manage this?

btw, we use CAS so I am assuming that all users will need to be in our authentication server?

Thanks


#2

Hi there,
let me resume quickly what you asked , so basically you disabled the global sharing feature but you want it to be enabled on some workspaces if that’s right what i can advise you is to create a role, edit it go to Customize Parameters > Per-workspaces parameters choose the workspaces that you want to have the sharing feature click on the + then search for Enable Sharing Features and you can enable it ( in case that is a inheritied property you can override it).

-Z


#3

So the dozen or so other smaller font/type parameters help tweak some of the sub features then? (btw, are you an employee or just a user like the rest of us, curious)


#4

Hi,
yes, lets take your picture as an example, the bold title action.share means it’s targeting actions around sharing(pretty straightforward) and those below are the parameters/actions that you want precisely to either enable/disable or set to a precise value.