Docker Compose question (Security question)

I am still very new to just about everything linux, and even newer to docker, but I have a security question pertaining to the docker compose samples provided by pydio.

In the docker compose it appears the MySQL ports are being externally exposed, yet the software is made to run in a closed network. Would it not be safer to remove the ports flag and use the service name as the host when setting up cell as to not expose mysql?

(This method is what I am using and ti seems to work just fine.)

Hi,
yes you could use mysql without exposing the ports and even use a separate docker network,
actually our example was made to be the most user friendly possible, but if you have suggestions i could add them to the documentation.

I also deployed using docker-compose, and I definitely removed the host-exposed port. If their on the same network, it only makes an unnecessary attack surface.

As a note: the mainline pydio cells image I used could not resolve the hostname using “mysql” or whatever you named your database container. This is a small issue, because it should not be assumed that the docker compose network IP would stay the same if the container was to be recreated (like on an update).

I actually found that you could put the mysql sock in a named volume and connect via the sock. It worked for me, and I highly recommend it! Let me know if you need examples.

Hi,
thanks for your hints,
i’m not against some examples i would like to know how it is done and later i’ll try to add that to the admin guide if it fits.

I use docker-compose also, with docker in swarm mode, and the db container resolves perfectly - not sure if there’s a difference in the two modes.

1 Like