Cannot access Pydio Server on / instead of /pydio

Hello,

I’ve installed Pydio 8.2.1 on a Debian 9 VPS using the Pydio package repository and tried to change the base url to / instead of /pydio but I cannot get it to work. This is my first time working with Pydio (and also my first post here).

I think these files are relevant to the problem, please let me know if you need more information. I shortened them a bit (removed empty lines and comments) to keep the post short.
/etc/pydio/apache2.conf:

Alias   /       /usr/share/pydio
<Directory "/usr/share/pydio">
        Options FollowSymLinks
        AllowOverride Limit FileInfo
        Order allow,deny
        Allow from all
        Require all granted
</Directory>
AddType application/json .json

/etc/pydio/htaccess:

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine on
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule (.*) index.php [L]
</IfModule>

Pretty sure I messed up something as well because I changed it back to /pydio and I when I then visit the site (with /pydio appended) I am presented with a blank page (with some HTML and Javascript in the source code).

Could someone help me out here? Greatly appreciated as Pydio seems like a great application.

EDIT: I just realized I should probably mention that I have an NGINX reverse proxy set up in front of it with the following config in the vhost file:

server {
        server_name                     cloud.xxx.xxx;
        listen                          10.0.1.5:80;
        return                          301 https://$server_name$request_uri;
}

server {
        server_name                     cloud.xxx.xxx;
        listen                          10.0.1.5:443 ssl;
        ssl_certificate                 /etc/letsencrypt/live/cloud.xxx.xxx/fullchain.pem;
        ssl_certificate_key             /etc/letsencrypt/live/cloud.xxx.xxx/privkey.pem;
        location                        / {